Butler School Student helps chronically homeless showcase talents in outdoor concert

Monday, June 14, 2021
  |  KXAN

Butler School doctor of musical arts student Abbey Young produced an outstanding day of musical fun yesterday at Community First! Village on Austin’s far eastside. The event, which featured musical performances of village residents and others, many of whom have experienced chronic homelessness, was funded by the Butler School’s Rainwater Innovation Grant. Community members came out to hear the music, dance, eat lots of good food and enjoy conversation and good company.

Butler School says Goodbye to director mary ellen poole

Monday, June 7, 2021

It’s with great sadness that the Butler School of Music announces the departure of Director Mary Ellen Poole on July 31st. She has accepted a position as Carnegie Mellon University's Stanley and Marcia Gumberg Dean of the College of Fine Arts beginning August 1st.

UT alumnus Cliff Croomes named next director of Longhorn Band

Wednesday, May 19, 2021
Cliff Croomes

The Butler School of Music at The University of Texas at Austin has named Cliff Croomes as the new associate director of bands and the director of the Longhorn Band. He will step into this new role June 1. Croomes is a 2001 graduate of the Butler School of Music and an alumnus of the Longhorn Band. He most recently served as the assistant director of bands at Louisiana State University and as the music director and principal conductor of the Civic Orchestra of Baton Rouge.

Risus Quartet sweeps prestigious Fischoff National Chamber Music Competition

Monday, May 17, 2021
  |  The Violin Channel

The Risus Quartet, comprised of Butler School Students Haeni Lee, Jieun Yoo, Mary Eunkyung Chang and Bobae Lee resident in Seoul, South Korea during the pandemic, won a gold medal in the Senior Strings Division and the Grand Prize at the 48th Annual Fischoff National Chamber Music Competition in Notre Dame, Indiana. The quartet was trained remotely over the past year by Butler School Violin Professors Sandy Yamamoto and Daniel Ching.

Butler School announces new faculty for fall, 2021

Tuesday, May 11, 2021

The Butler School of Music is pleased to announce two new faculty members, Dr. LaToya Webb and Dr. Justin West, who will both begin teaching next fall.Webb is joining the Butler School as Assistant Director of the Longhorn Band and Assistant Professor of Practice in Conducting. She comes from positions at Auburn and Grambling State Universities where she is an instructor of wind conducting.  

Q & A with graduating Vocal performance student Nicholas Ryland

Tuesday, May 11, 2021

As he prepares for the next chapter, Butler School of Music senior Nicholas Ryland has mixed feelings about moving on. Set to graduate with a Bachelor of Music degree in vocal performance, Ryland said he’ll miss the community and support he’s received as a Butler School student, but is curious to explore performance opportunities in a “new normal” of in-person shows. 

Master of Music student wins graduate school award for outstanding thesis

Thursday, May 6, 2021
  |  YouTube

The Butler School’s Indigo E. Fischer received one of the Graduate School’s student awards, which she was honored with for her outstanding recital called An Audio and Visual Exploration of Music from the 18th Century to Today. Indigo premiered the video in December, 2020, as part of her Master of Music program.