Oct 18, 2019, 7:30 PM – 9:30 PM

Street Address Bates Recital Hall (View Map)

Ticket Price

All University of Texas at Austin students are allowed one free ticket as long as they are available.  Student tickets must be picked up at the Box Office with valid student I.D. Seating is assigned for this performance.  ADA seating is available with companion seat options.


Archive Project 1935: Kolisch String Quartet

Daniel Ching, violin
William Fedkenheuer, violin
John Largess, viola
Joshua Gindele, cello

The Kolisch Quartet was founded in Vienna but moved to America in 1939. They knew Schoenberg, Berg, Webern and Bartók personally, premiering many of their works. They specialized in a “modern” presentation of the Beethoven quartets as one of the first quartets to play Beethoven’s metronome markings and to perform the Grosse Fuge in concert. The Miró will recreate the Kolisch Quartet's April 8, 1935 concert at the Library of Congress in Washington, D.C.


Ludwig van Beethoven
String Quartet No. 13 in B-flat Major, Op. 130/133 "Grosse Fuge"

Alban Berg
Lyric Suite

Béla Bartók
String Quartet No. 5 in B-flat Major

View Complete Program