Feb 11, 2020, 7:30 PM – 9:00 PM

Street Address Bates Recital Hall (View Map)

Ticket Price

Seating is unassigned. If you are a patron with ADA needs, please email tickets@mail.music.utexas.edu and we will reserve ADA seating for you. All University of Texas at Austin students are allowed one free ticket as long as they are available. Student tickets must be picked up at the Box Office with valid student I.D.

Members of the Aeolus Quartet holding their instruments

Nicholas Tavani, violin
Rachel Shapiro, violin
Caitlin Lynch, viola
Alan Richardson, cello


Maurice Ravel
Quartet for Strings in F Major

Anton Webern
Five Movements for String Quartet, Op. 5

Ludwig van Beethoven
String Quartet No. 14 in C-sharp minor, Op. 131


Praised by the Baltimore Sun for combining “smoothly meshed technique with a sense of spontaneity and discovery,” the Aeolus Quartet is committed to presenting time-seasoned masterworks and new cutting-edge works to widely diverse audiences with equal freshness, dedication, and fervor. The all-American quartet formed in 2008 at the Cleveland Institute of Music. Since its inception, the quartet has been awarded prizes at nearly every major competition in the United States and performed across the globe with showings “worthy of a major-league quartet” (Scott Cantrell, Dallas Morning News). Mark Satola of the Cleveland Plain Dealer writes, “A rich and warm tone combined with precise ensemble playing (that managed also to come across as fluid and natural), and an impressive musical intelligence guided every technical and dramatic turn.” They were the 2013-2015 Graduate Resident String Quartet at the Juilliard School, and currently make their home in New York City.