Antokoletz headshot
  • Professor of Musicology
Office Phone: 512-471-0698
Office Location: MRH 3.714
  • Musicology

Elliott Antokoletz, Professor of Musicology at the University of Texas at Austin, has held the Alice Mackie Scott Tacquard Endowed CentennialChair and E.W. Doty Professorship in Fine Arts. His books include: The Music of Béla Bartók: A Study of Tonality and Progression in Twentieth-Century Music (Berkeley and Los Angeles, 1984; also in Spanish translation); Béla Bartók, A Guide To Research  (Garland, 1988; 2nd ed. rev. 1997; 3rd ed. rev., 2011); Twentieth Century Music (Prentice Hall, 1992; also in Polish and Chinese translation); Musical Symbolism in the Operas of Debussy and Bartók:Trauma, Gender, and the Unfolding of the Unconscious (Oxford, 2004); The Musical Language of the Twentieth Century, The Discovery of a Missing Link; The Music of Georg von Albrecht (Peter Lang Verlag, 2012); and A History of Twentieth-Century Music in a Theoretic-Analytical Context (New York: Routledge, 2014). His co-authoredbooks include: Music and Twentieth-Century Tonality: Harmonic Progression Based on Modality and the Interval Cycles (New York: Routledge, 2012); and Manuel de Falla’s Cuatro Piezas Españolas: Combinations and Transformations of the Spanish Folk Modes (Saarbrücken: VDM Publishing House Ltd., 2009). He is book author/editor of Bartók Perspectives: Man, Composer, and Ethnomusicologist (Oxford, 2000); and Re-Thinking Debussy (Oxford, 2011). He is editor of Georg von Albrecht: From Musical Folklore to Twelve-Tone Technique: Memoirs of a Musician Between East and West (Scarecrow Press, 2004); International Journal of Musicology (Frankfurt, Berlin, Paris, Bern, Wien, New York: Verlag Peter Lang, annual since 1992); and book series Sources and Studies in Music History from Antiquity to the Present (Frankfurt: Verlag Peter Lang, since 2014). He has contributed to the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians II. He has published more than 75 articles in most of the major music journals and to book compilations such as: The Bartók Companion (Faber, 1993); Sibelius Studies (Cambridge University Press, 2001); Encomium Musicae: Essays in Honor of Robert J. Snow (Pendragon, 2002) on 20th-century composers from Spain; Copland and His Times (Princeton, 2005); and Unmasking Ravel: New Perspectives on the Music (Rochester, 2011). In 1982 he served as scholarly evaluator for the Harry Ransom Center (HRC) at the University of Texas for acquisition of the Stravinsky Archive as well as archival collections of Ravel, Dukas, Roussel, Fauré, and Debussy. The “Elliott Antokoletz Bartókiana Collection” is housed, together with the “Benjamin Suchoff Bartókiana Collection” (Former Trustee of the Béla Bartók Estate and Head of the New York Bartók Archive), at the University of South Florida at Tampa. Antokoletz has lectured in Hungary, Germany, Poland, Switzerland, England, Spain, Mexico, Brazil, Australia, and throughout the United States. His honors and awards include: the Béla Bartók Memorial Plaque and Diploma from the Hungarian Government (1981); two subventions from the National Endowment for the Humanities (1980 and 1982); a Teaching Excellence Award from the University of Texas (1981); and the Ph.D. Alumni Award from the City University of New York (1987). In March 2000 he was the Director of the Bartók International Congress and in 2006 the Debussy International Congress at the University of Texas. Antokoletz majored in Violin Performance under Dorothy Delay and Ivan Galamian at the Juilliard School of Music (B.S., 1960-1964), Historical Musicology at Hunter College (M.A. 1970) and Graduate Center of the City University of New York (Ph.D., 1975). From 1973 to 1976, he taught theory and chamber music at Queens College, where he was a member of the Faculty String Quartet, concertmaster of the New Repertory Ensemble of New York and also concertmaster and soloist with the Bronx Symphony.